Long Weekend 

It’s the second day of our 3-day-long weekend. We’ve been up since 6:30 am. 90 percent of our chores are done. I’m sitting on my comfy couch and enjoying the breeze which is making my lovely sheer curtains flutter. I can hear traffic in the distance but being on the 12th floor means that it’s too far away to annoy me.


Once I’m ready to get myself out of this couch, I’ll head to the room we’ve fashioned into a reading room. It’s another little piece of heaven for me.

Every once in a while, you make a purchase that  makes your brain scream out loud in horror but makes your heart dance with joy. Eventually the brain stops screaming and joins the heart in a temporary truce in a warm bubbly pool of contentment while you enjoy the relief brought about by this truce and thank your lucky stars you listened to your heart. The armchair on the right happens to be just such a purchase for me. Sinking into its cushiony depths is the ultimate stress buster for me.

I chose orange curtains for this room because I love the way they color the light.

 And of course, there is my bookshelf in all its glory.

  I haven’t planned lunch yet. The husband is napping in front of the tv and his input is essential for lunch planning. We moved into this apartment a couple of weeks ago. It was a physically and emotionally exhausting process followed by 2 very brutal weeks in office for both of us. That makes this long weekend doubly precious.

With the day stretching ahead of me there are a hundred things I can do. But here’s what I will do. I’ll sink into my amazing armchair with an amazing book and savour each second of this weekend as if it were the most amazing dessert made by the most amazing pastry chef in the most amazing restaurant on the planet 🙂 Happy Weekend !!

Leave a Reply

